A catalogue of thread – WAGH! And a simple cross stitch

3 Jun

Yesterday it was impossible to know which patterns’ I had appropriate colours for! I have my mum’s (full) “Anchor stranded cotton” organiser, but it wasn’t clear whether numbers were DMC or Anchor – some didn’t even have any! I decided it would help long-term to just spend a while writing/googling. Fun fun fun….

It didn’t take as long as I thought so I tried a little pattern found on Shona’s Place:

Image

A really easy pattern for cross stitch or crochet, from Shona’s Place

I did it on white Aida (14 count) and it is really small so didn’t fit even in my tiny 4″ embroidery hoop properly! I also had to keep unpicking whole sections because of silly little mistakes but it still didn’t take too long at all – probably around half an hour for each section.

Image

Using Anchor 45 / DMC 814 (Dark Garnet) with a (‘snow’) white blanket stitch

I tried to add a blanket stitch around the edge to prevent bad fraying, but managed to make it worse in some places – definitely need to practise! The corners are particularly awful, how is one supposed to negotiate corners with a blanket stitch on Aida?? :S

Please leave a comment :)

