Cross-stitch: Father’s Day card

11 Jun

(Late post, it’s been a bit of a hectic weekend making arrangements for the new job!)

I wanted to cross-stitch my dad a nice Father’s day card, but I couldn’t find any that were both appropriate and would arrive in time for the weekend just gone. I might keep a eye out for a tatty teddy or something one next year. I chose this fairly simple one with a pretty border around some writing:

Free Father's Day chart from You Sew Should

Free Father’s Day chart from You Sew Should

It really didn’t take very long at all, probably about 5-6 hours in all – I like projects which can be done in a day :)

His favourite colours are red, white, and blue, making thread selection easy!

The border done :)

The border done :)

I couldn’t find a card with a 3×4″ hole in it, in which I wanted to display the finished piece. Instead I got a 4×5″ plain card from Paperchase and did some not-very-straight cutting out to make a window, and taped it in:

The card all ready to be put in the envelope, nice and simple :)

The card all ready to be put in the envelope, nice and simple :)

The back of my cross-stitch  - I want to show off how neat it is!

The back of my cross-stitch – I want to show off how neat it is!

Are you giving your dad something handmade this Father’s Day?

One Response to “Cross-stitch: Father’s Day card”

  1. creative pixie 11/06/2013 at 22:07 #

    Very neat work.

Please leave a comment :)

