New sewing machine: Singer ‘Traditional’ [2250]

4 Aug
Image

My sewing machine!

After a two month hiatus from this blog (my new job kept me quite occupied, as have interviews for other jobs..!) I finally took the plunge and bought myself this basic 10-stitch Singer from Argos (£119.99).

 

SAM_2123

Back and front (on paper, but comes out the same on thin polycotton)

After taking 10 minutes to work out how to completely thread it, I tried sewing in a straight line…. it didn’t go well. So apparently I can’t do a running stitch. I tried one of the zig-zag patterns which came out well but the running stitch was really tight at the front and really loose at the back…

What am I doing wrong? I can’t tell if it is the tension, the pedal speed, moving the fabric, or if it is threaded incorrectly! :(

8 Responses to “New sewing machine: Singer ‘Traditional’ [2250]”

  1. creative pixie 04/08/2013 at 20:21 #

    Sounds like the tension is too loose. There should be something in the manual as to how to adjust the tension (usually a dial with numbers on it).

    • esorteragram 04/08/2013 at 20:54 #

      I thought it was a tension thing, I am going to continue playing with the tension option – I just can’t seem to get it ‘just right’. Lots more attempts at straight lines to come!

      Thanks for telling me it is tension, at least I know where to concentrate my efforts now! :) So much better at hand-sewing…

      • creative pixie 04/08/2013 at 21:08 #

        Have you threaded the needle correctly, going through all the steps required? That can affect the tension too.

      • esorteragram 07/08/2013 at 20:31 #

        Ah thank you Creative Pixie – it looks like I completely missed the bit in the manual about bobbin thread tension. Testing it shows it is not tense enough, but I cannot seem to turn the screw enough for the thread to only drop by an inch or two when suspending the bobbin case – it just completely unwinds as much as it can!

        So I’ve found the problem, just to fix it..!

  2. SplitShilo 25/05/2014 at 20:38 #

    I am having exactly the same problem! :( I’ve tightened the bobbin case as much as I can and the thread just reels straight off; there’s no tension at all! I’m going to phone the support centre tomorrow, I’ll be so annoyed if it’s a faulty bobbin case!

    • Creative Saturdays 26/05/2014 at 07:42 #

      This sounds like a silly question but it’s where I was going wrong. When you put the bobbin in the case, are you sliding the thread through the small line/gap to get it to the hole in the middle that it needs to be coming out of? My problem was that I was just placing the thread through the big hole, then inserting my bobbin. Did that make sense?

      • Susie 23/06/2014 at 12:00 #

        Yes, I teach students how to sew and skipping the bobbin tension slot was a #1 problem! Good luck, and thanks for checking my blog out! I look forward to what you’ll be doing in the future.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Baby quilt: completed and gifted! | Creative Saturdays - 05/09/2014

    […] people generally able to quilt with a normal sewing machine? I had ok space with this with my Singer Tradition, but I was only using one layer of cotton with one layer of fleece. I’m worried a double […]

Please leave a comment :)

