Mother’s day cross-stitch (take II)

30 Mar

So… if you saw my previous post, you will know that it was Not Going Well. Well, it didn’t get much better. It was from http://www.cross-stitching.com’s magazine, and had seven shades of brown all with rather ridiculous names and arrived in a bundle so were hard to sort. Even looking up the DMC charts online didn’t help.

So, Friday night I gave up, decided to buy new floss and aida for that one and try it for mum’s birthday later in the year.

And I tried a new one. Ed Hedghog from CrossStich magazine, probably would have been a two-day job if I had the time but instead it was more of a ‘very late night’ job, which I am sure won’t be my last for this blog..!

Here he is all ready to be mounted :)

Here he is all ready to be mounted :)

It was the first time that I have done ‘blended’ stitching, and I found myself lining up all the threads in the same order so that I couldn’t get lost at all. Each time I pinned one of them to the aida to continue with another colour, I jotted down an arrow and its symbol so I couldn’t get lost. I refused to make the same mistake that wasted three evenings of stitching last week!

My big tip: if you are prone to getting lost while doing a cross stitch, there is a cheap way to keep track without ruining your pattern. Use a plastic wallet (one of the A4 ones used in ring binders) and a whiteboard/drywipe pen. I just coloured over each square as I did it (well often in groups of 5-10) and I didn’t lose track :)

Now, it came with a little mount however no frame/card, so again I tried to be resourceful – I used the pink card from one of those separators used in ring binders. I never throw them away as they come in handy so often without having to buy whole packs of card separately! Anyway, here it is mounted:

Backed and ready to give :)

Backed and ready to give :)

I was rather happy with it, and my mum was very pleased too! Along with the bunch of flowers freshly gathered at the florists.

I hope you all managed to get your mothers’ gifts right first time! 

And to finish off – here’s a photo of the back. I heard it should look like the front and I don’t think it is too bad :)

Recognisable from behind!

Recognisable from behind!

 

3 Responses to “Mother’s day cross-stitch (take II)”

  1. Aimee 10/04/2014 at 20:02 #

    I’m always so intrigued looking at the backs of other people’s work! Mine always seem so scruffy and all over the place, although they do thankfully resemble the front quite closely. :) I love this idea for a card, and it looks to have turned out really nice! I’m sure your mum was chuffed! :D As for the present for my mum, I ended up scrapping the card entirely and putting the stitch in a nice frame for her. She seemed happy enough, but I’m a bit sad that I didn’t manage to complete it to my original wish. Kudos to you! :)

    • Creative Saturdays 10/04/2014 at 20:14 #

      Thanks! It was really very cheap as a kit from eBay (I should update the post to include the person I bought it from actually! I will find it later) so I was really happy when it arrived with the mount.

      I really love the idea of framing the prints :) It turns it into something quite nice that can be kept on display easily for longer than a card would be usually — I know mine will be stuffed away in a drawer somewhere before too long!

      • Aimee 10/04/2014 at 20:18 #

        That’s always the worry with cards! But it always happens to frames too – often there just isn’t enough wall space. But I dug out two framed stitches from beneath the wardrobe a few months ago that I had completely forgotten about (not sewn by me unfortunately) and they’ve now been given a new lease of life. So it isn’t all bad! :)

Please leave a comment :)

