Portable sewing kit – gifts for students

3 Apr

My sister goes to university at the end of the summer, and while it seems a long way away I am sure that it will come very quickly..!

She doesn’t really sew but I imagine that a basic sewing kit will still be very useful, given how many times people borrowed mine at uni….

So, I want to make her a small sewing kit, using this tutorial from lotsofpink at blogspot.

I actually found it through another blog, tartankiwi, which looks like this (photo copied directly from her site)

I really like the fabric used on this one, and it might be a fitting ‘going away from home’ gift.

I also considered this one but I prefer the structure of the lotsofpink one. I’m posting it here in case anyone is curious though :)

It’ll obviously be stocked slightly differently for her than it would be for a sewer! Bit of hemming web alongside the dressmaker pins perhaps…! Do you have any suggestions for how I could stock it?

5 Responses to “Portable sewing kit – gifts for students”

  1. mammascrafts 04/04/2014 at 21:14 #

    I love this…who doesn’t need one of these :)

  2. onabear 05/04/2014 at 07:57 #

    A super useful gift she will have it for years and think of you every time she uses it. What a sweet sister you are. Needles, pins, scissors,, measuring tape thread, buttons, safety pins in various sizes and some elastic in a couple of thin widths are my suggestions.

  3. Creative Saturdays 07/04/2014 at 20:28 #

    Thank you both for your comments! onabear I wouldn’t have even thought of buttons and elastic but they are both excellent ideas – thank you :D

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The fabric jumped into my bag! Honest! | Creative Saturdays - 10/08/2014

    […] think I will use it to make the sewing kit I planned for my sister […]

  2. Sew Selfless September: A sewing kit | Creative Saturdays - 14/09/2014

    […] was originally going to make the one which I mentioned in this post, however I feel that the box bag offers more opportunity for expansion, and I am hoping that this […]

Please leave a comment :)

