Baby quilt: with fleece? Help!

24 Apr

If you’ve been following my blog you’ll know that I’ve only made a handful of items with my sewing machine,

My sister-in-law is due to have a baby in September, and I have decided to make a quilt. They don’t want to know the sex of the baby until the day, so the baby’s room will be beige.

I have this fabric (the beige) and have also bought a metre of a beige fleece to go with it.

Image

From alwaysknittingandsewing.co.uk (click to go to it)

Now my problem is that there are fleece-backed blanket tutorials, but no fleece-backed quilt tutorials. Has anyone used fleece to back a quilt?

Should I still use batting?

How should I adjust a quilt tutorial to suit a fleece backing?

I think I may be out of my depth, please tell me I am wrong!

3 Responses to “Baby quilt: with fleece? Help!”

  1. Amy @ Purls and Polkadots 25/04/2014 at 02:58 #

    You can definately use fleece to back a quilt. I do all the time. Just make sure you pin the heck out of it when you are putting it all together to stop any stretching and warping. You can use batting if you wish, depends really on how thick you want it to be… I’ve done quilts with batting of blanket thickness, and others with only some flannel. My favourite to use an old woollen blanket as batting. It gives a lovely weight and warmth to the quilt without too much extra bulk. Hope this helps. Good luck!! I look forward to seeing the finished product.

    • Creative Saturdays 27/04/2014 at 21:21 #

      Thank you! I am relieved that I can use it! The woollen blanket batting sounds lovely, I will have to see if I have anything around!

      I have now moved onto worrying about my machine foot – appears that I will need to invest in a walking foot, and work out which types my machine can use… :S Google to the rescue!

      Thank you again :D

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Baby quilt: completed and gifted! | Creative Saturdays - 05/09/2014

    […] Decide what to use as the backing, and whether to use batting/wadding (frantic post here) […]

Please leave a comment :)

