WIP blouse: Lesson learned, don’t cut damp fabric

19 May

I cut this pattern out yesterday after pre washing it. I didn’t realise it was still damp but it must have been as it has now shrunk to smaller than I need for my pattern :-(

image

8 Responses to “WIP blouse: Lesson learned, don’t cut damp fabric”

  1. the girl 19/05/2014 at 23:14 #

    That’s an important tip that I’ll remember! Thanks for sharing.

  2. craftyj3n 20/05/2014 at 15:09 #

    Oh god. I think I’d cry if that happened to me. I’m going to write that somewhere in big bold letters where I’d see it every day!

    • Creative Saturdays 20/05/2014 at 19:24 #

      I don’t think I will ever forget! Although I decided I could try putting it together anyway to practise (I’ve never made a garment before) before turning it to the scraps pile, but turns out the pattern leaves PLENTY of give so even with the shrinkage it might make passage PJs. I had planned a work summer blouse, but I’ll take what I can get!

      • craftyj3n 20/05/2014 at 19:35 #

        A great way to look at it. Pyjamas are amazing. Good luck!

      • Creative Saturdays 20/05/2014 at 19:36 #

        Thank you! :-)

  3. carlymau 20/05/2014 at 19:15 #

    I would never have thought of this! Is it not possible to stretch it out somehow? :(

    • Creative Saturdays 20/05/2014 at 19:25 #

      I tried but I couldn’t get it to stretch back out – but it turns out that the pattern leaves a LOT of give so it should just about be ok for something to wear around the house! I’ll post it when I get around to it :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My first me-made: A botched sorbetto | Creative Saturdays - 09/06/2014

    […] still a bit damp from the pre-washing when I pressed and cut it. Oops. I panicked about it here. I finally encouraged myself to just put it together anyway and here it […]

Please leave a comment :)

