How to use / upcycle old/odd socks???

22 May

I have tonnes of these. Tonnes.

I’ve never lost a sock when I’ve been the only one involved in the laundry process, but if ever my stuff has been thrown in with the family wash, or when people removed my laundry from the dryer at uni, I’ve found myself with odd socks. 

 

Has anyone found a good creative use for them? I cannot stand wearing odd socks (though will occasionally hide them under a second, matched, layer of socks when the temperature is low!) but also hate to throw away good fabric!

12 Responses to “How to use / upcycle old/odd socks???”

  1. the girl 23/05/2014 at 03:42 #

    Here’s one idea!
    http://wp.me/p4CWhy-1f

    • Creative Saturdays 23/05/2014 at 06:54 #

      They are so awesome! Will definitely have to try this at Christmas :-) thank you :-)

  2. kricec 23/05/2014 at 18:38 #

    Sock buns :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I13J7ArHTkM

  3. Twilight Storm Crafts 30/05/2014 at 01:38 #

    I use odd socks to hold yarn skeins (If you knit or crochet.) It keeps dog or cat hair from getting all over your project yarn. The yarn pulls from the center, and the sock compresses the skein as it gets used. You can also use old nylons. I’ve fit multiple skeins of sock weight yarn in one sock, and it keeps it all together for your project. Just turn the sock inside out slip it over your arm, grab the yarn with the working end away from you and turn the sock over the skein.

  4. EmilyAnn Frances 05/06/2014 at 08:37 #

    Make a sock puppet for a child.

    http://www.marthastewart.com/909711/how-make-fun-sock-puppets-kids

  5. wovenflame 05/06/2014 at 14:05 #

    If you know of a doll in need of a coat there is this idea: http://wovenflame.blogspot.ca/2012/06/sock-rehab.html

  6. wovenflame 05/06/2014 at 14:11 #

    Sorry for the double comment. I should have included the diagram in my earlier comment.

  7. wovenflame 05/06/2014 at 14:13 #

    Embeding the photo didn’t work so I’ll try providing a link. Sorry, all this is new to me and I don’t see a “preview” for the comments to see if such things are working correctly.
    Felted Sock to LTF Jacket

  8. the Editor 09/06/2014 at 12:35 #

    You could always just sew the open end up with rice inside and warm it up in the microwave whenever you have neck pain (or any pain). :)

  9. mazzaus 10/06/2014 at 01:11 #

    Handy dusting and cleaning cloths? Sock puppets? Cut off the toe and use as arm warmers or leg warmers? If hand knit, felt and cut up and re-stiitch into hot water bottle covers or small child vests…

  10. mazzaus 10/06/2014 at 01:11 #

    I fixed this problem by having pretty much all my socks matching… and the hand knit iones are so precious and distinctive that they very seldom go AWOL.

  11. Nicole 18/08/2014 at 23:14 #

    I have a book called ‘Stray sock sewing, too’ (which admittedly I have never actually used). It has lots of cute little creatures to make from socks.

Please leave a comment :)

