Machine hemming, or “under-appreciating my iron”

9 Aug

My sister-in-law asked me to hem a maxi dress for her…. which is a lot of fabric, curved! 

20140809_094214_Android

:-)

The last time I tried to hem something, was a silk dress by hand which was perhaps a little messy. I decided to be more careful with this one, pinning every inch as I rolled it over. 

Why didn’t I just iron it fr the first fold and again for the second fold?

I have no idea

That would have been so much easier

Though I guess I might have then burnt my fingers rather than a few pin pricks, which is a more long-lasting pain?

Maybe I should try it sometime. But for now, this did the job :)

(apologies for the boring post – the quilt will begin again next week!)

Please leave a comment :)

