Quilted coaster / ‘mug rug’: turning corners with bias binding

16 Aug

If you saw my post about my Botched attempt at a Sorbetto, you’ll have seen that my first attempt at bias binding, around curves, was definitely not a success…

My current WIP, a baby patchwork quilt, will need to be finished off with some (24mm) bias binding. After the comments on that post, which helpfully pointed out some good tutorials, I decided I definitely needed to practise first – especially with turning the corners with binding.

I used a tutorial from So Sew Easy on turning corners with bias binding, but I was being a bit dim and forgot that when joining up bias binding you need to sew it and press etc., so just trimmed at the point where I should have sewn them together! I realised almost immediately after and just felt so silly. Thankfully, this wasn’t the real thing ad was just a bit of a scrap buster practise :)

One side turned out a bit neater than the other, but my lines weren’t perfectly straight.  I am hoping that when I use 24mm instead of 12mm bias binding, I will be able to pin it more accurately and it will be less messy… I hope.

2014.08.16 Teddy Mug Rug side A

The slightly neater corners

2014.08.16 Teddy Mug Rug side B

The messier side!

I think this took about two hours all in, including: finding my bag of scraps; finding enough matching scraps; ironing the scraps (and melting one of my towels by ironing on it); sewing the two sides up and interfacing them; quilting together with some cotton batting; trimming; and eventually adding the binding.

I think it would probably only take other people half an hour, but I am happy enough with that :)

4 Responses to “Quilted coaster / ‘mug rug’: turning corners with bias binding”

  1. Deby Coles 16/08/2014 at 13:11 #

    I think seeing you used such narrow binding you did an excellent job. Its something I think we will get better at with practice. On something like a mug rug or pot holder, I’m no so fussy but I’m just working on my first quilt too and I think I’ll machine sew the first line and then hand stitch the back to make sure its perfect. I still miss sometimes and its so frustrating to turn over and see you just went off the binding on the back!
    Deby at So Sew Easy

  2. Oh Sew Tempting 16/08/2014 at 14:13 #

    You did a great job :-) In the past I stitched all bindings to the front by machine and then handstitched to the back. Now I stitch the back by machine as well. I use my zipper foot and find I no longer jump off the edge and can also be sure to stitch exactly along the edge. If you search for “Spring is in the air” on my blog there’s a photo of how I did it.

  3. Ah, it would probably take me hours too – anything with the label “quilting” mystifies me!

  4. Creative Saturdays 31/08/2014 at 20:00 #

    Thank you so much for the comments! I panicked about the messy other side and decided to hand-stitch the second side of the bias binding for the quilt, as it is for a gift, but I am tempted to try a quilt for myself (maybe a t-shirt quilt) and to try machine-stitching the bias binding on that. It looks so good when done properly like on your blogs!

    Linda I know how you feel, I had absolutely no idea what I was doing when I decided to make a quilt, thankfully WordPress’ helpful bloggers got me through :)

Please leave a comment :)

