Hooded personalised towel / back after 12 months

4 Jan

I haven’t sewn much at all since my last post in November 2014. Other than small tasks (fixing curtains, hemming dress, etc.), I had only had one project in the 12 months since my last post, before this one. Christmas 2014 I made a purse for my sister out of some fabric I got on Goldhawk road. I used the tutorial from FortworthFabricStudio and I think it turned out nicely. It was part of her Christmas present  and she was delighted.

These photos were only just taken yesterday as I didn’t take any at the time – so excuse the PJs – I loved the contrasting red but think maybe I should have used half navy rather than using only patterned fabric, it’s a bit overwhelming!

ANYWAY – about the personalised hooded towel!

My sister-in-law asked if I would make my nephew a personalised towel for his 2015 Christmas present, and I jumped at the chance / motivation to sew again after so long. The last 12 months I’ve been pretty unwell and having to ration my energy, but I have been feeling better recently so figured it was about time to get my Singer back out!

I wanted to make it a bit more interesting than just a towel with his name on, so I was really happy when I found a tutorial from CrazyLittleProjects which sounded like it wouldn’t take too long. It needs a bath towel and a hand towel, and a LOT of thread (I used one and a half of the 100m Gutterman ones). Sewing the towel together was a little tough, even with a size 100 needle, and I discovered that the little lever that raises/drops the foot will raise the lever even more if you push and hold it up. Without that I would never have managed to get the doubled-over bits of the towel under the needle! It took a while and gave me sore shoulders, but I was pretty happy when it was done.

I had also never done applique, and have decided since that doing it with lowercase curvy letters was a terrible idea for my first time. Next time I might be able to work it, as I think I got the hang of this a bit as I went on, but in hindsight I should have used capitals only for this one! I used the great templates from Free Applique Patterns and traced them off my screen. I didn’t have any paper backed fusible webbing and so I just used hemming web to stick the fabric directly to the towel and it worked quite well I think – but it was a bit fiddly so I might have to add some paper-backed stuff to my collection for future.

Hooded Towel - appliquéd letters.jpg

I decided to make the letters wonky so I wouldn’t drive myself mad making them straight! I am quite happy with the result and my boyfriend’s advice to use dark thread against the light-ish towel was a great suggestion.

I was quite happy with the finished result (although I forgot to get a photo of the full thing) and when he opened it he gave it a snuggle – even though he had no idea what it was other than a soft thing, that one snuggle made it worth it and reminded me of why I love sewing. So I definitely won’t be leaving it that long until my next project!

5 Responses to “Hooded personalised towel / back after 12 months”

  1. atelieroursonne 05/01/2016 at 07:06 #

    Lovely to see that you are back to sewing and well done on those letters! It looks amazing and I strongly agree with the dark thread for contrast (I am a big fan of contrasts :) )

    • Creative Saturdays 27/01/2016 at 20:12 #

      Thank you so much! They were tough so I am glad they turned out well :-)
      I found out since that you can get an appliqué foot for a sewing machine, so it’s U shaped rather than thr standard almost A shape, so you can see what you’re doing better – I’m very tempted to invest!

  2. luckybearnorfolk 10/01/2016 at 21:50 #

    Welcome back! Happy seeing in 2016. Here’s hoping you feel better enough to do lots!!!

    • Creative Saturdays 27/01/2016 at 19:58 #

      Thank you! It felt great to start sewing again and I admit I spent a couple of weeks beforehand reading sewing blogs again to build up the courage and to think about how to do it – I missed the blogs as much as the sewing itself, people are so creative and lovely!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Christmas sewing: boy’s beanbag | Creative Saturdays - 07/01/2017

    […] niece a hooded personalised (applique) towel, similarly to the one I made for my nephew a year ago (here), but clearly I didn’t take warning from that because I made it in lowercase letters AGAIN […]

Please leave a comment :)

